1st AICTE-ECI Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards -2017

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and Engineering Council of India (ECI), felicitated the award winners of “AICTE-ECI Chhatra Vishwakrma Awards” of AICTE approved Degree & Diploma level Technical Institutions/Universities in New Delhi today. Dr Satya Pal Singh, Minister of State, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India was the Chief guest on the occasion.

Speaking on the occasion the minister said that no society can develop without developing science and for the progress of the country we have to focus on the technological requirements of twenty years  later and work accordingly. We should learn from the ancient science and technologies discovered by great scientist of that time. He told  students to avoid practice of plagiarism and follow Lord Vishwakarma in inventing new technologies which cannot be replicated .  He congratulated the AICTE for this excellent initiative and requested the institution to promote budding scientists and engineers and develop a scientific temperament in them.

The ‘AICTE-ECI Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards’ are an epitome for motivating individuals and institutions/ organizations to raise their performance in their specific domains leading to significant contribution towards the growth & development of the nation. These Awards are given in following categories separately for Degree and Diploma Students (including students from AICTE approved Community College) for providing an innovative solution “To convert existing institutes into smart institute using innovative approaches:

 Category-I: Outstanding Student Engineers (3 Awards each in Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, Electronics Engineering, Computer Science and Biotechnology streams or their allied branches)


  1.   Category-II: Outstanding Teachers Awards (3 Awards each in Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, Electronics Engineering, Computer Science and Biotechnology streams or their allied branches)


  1. Category-III: Outstanding Institutions Awards (3 Awards) based on the maximum number of awards won from the above two categories and other criteria.

The Council received 965 nominations from teams comprising of 3-4 members in each team. Nominations were received from teams from 23 States.  All nominations were further shortlisted based on   parameters like – Innovation, Implimentability, Cost benefit, Eco friendly, and its Social impact.

Total 55 innovative solutions were shortlisted by a Jury comprising experts from Industry and Academia led by eminent industrialist Dr B D Mundhra, Chairman, Simplex Infrastructure out of which 50 ideas are from teams of Degree Level Engineering Colleges and 5 from the teams of Diploma Level Institutes.

All 55 Teams comprising of around 250 students and their Mentors  also displayed prototype of their ideas for the given problem statement form 10.00 am to 1,00 pm on 19th September, 2017 in AICTE HQs premises, Nelson Mandela, Marg, New Delhi.

The following are the winners of the Awards:


Computer Science



PSG Polytechnic College, Tamil Nadu


Mentor : Dr. S. Brindha


Team Members :


1.      Sh. S. Praneet  2. Sh. K..R. Dharani Dharam

3        Sh. S. Srinath  4. Sh. Niranjan




Electrical engineering


Samrat Ashok Technological Institute(Degree), Madhya Pradesh


Mentor : Sh. S.P. Phulambrikar


Team Name : Advance


1.      Ms. Deepa Marskole   2. Ms. Priyanka Chouksey

3        Ms. Riya Rawat                      4. Sh. Kapil Kumar Soni

Civil Engineering


St. Joseph’s College of Engineering


Mentor : Dr. S. Sivasankar


Team  Name: The New Crew

1.      Sh. P.K. Hariharan                   2. Ms. B. Preethi Jain

3        Sh. J.D. Jeevith Prabhu

4        M. Nilaa

Mechanical Engineering


Poornima Group of Institutions, Rajasthan


Mentor : Sh. Ratnesh Sharma


Team Name : Smart Innovators


1.      Oshin Gangwal                          2. Sh. Prasoon Vikram Singh

3        Sh. Rahul Meena         4. Sh. Rahul Saini


Computer Science


CGC College of Engineering, Punjab


Mentor : Sh. Tejpal Sharma


Team name : Zeal Thinkers


1.Sh. Vishal Singh                      2. Ms. Shamli Kanwar

3  Sh. Rajat Sharma                        4. Tamannajangra



Scms School of Engineering & Technology, Karukutty


Mentor : Dr. Sunil Jacob


Team name : A De-Addiction Coil for Drug Addicts


1.Sh. A.N. George                           2. Sh. Ajish Suresh

3  Ms. Amrutha Anil Kumar      4. Ms. Anu Paulson



Kumaraguru College of Technology


Mentor : Sh. G. Ramakrishnan


Team name :Eco Innovators

1.Niveda R                      2. Gowtham S


Chairman AICTE, Prof Anil D Sahasrabudhe presided over the function in august presence of other dignitaries including, Dr B N Suresh, President, Indian National Academy of Engineer. Lt Gen S P Kochhar, CEO, Telecom Sector Skill Council, Dr P R Swaroop, DG, CIDC; Dr Suchin Bajaj, Founder Director, Cygnus Hospitals, Prof. Rajeev Sangal, Director, IIT (BHU), Varanasi etc.