Sports Science Centres

The Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Sarbananda Sonowal has said that Sports Science Centres aim at improvement in performance of athletes and team in sports events.   Regional Centres of Sports Authority of India (SAI) have Sports Science Centres with nomenclature as mentioned below :-

  • Faculty of Sports Sciences

Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports, Patiala

  • Sports Science Faculty

SAI Netaji Subhas Southern Centre, Bangalore

  • Sports Science Unit

SAI Netaji Subhas Eastern Centre, Kolkata

  • Sports Science Unit

SAI Netaji Subhas Western Centre, Gandhinagar

  • High Performance Lab

SAI Head Office, New Delhi

  • Sports Science and Sports Medicine Centre

SAI, Trivandrum


In a written reply in the Lok Sabha today Shri Sonowal said, all the above Sports Science Centres of SAI have 4 to 7 different Sports Science Specialities.  The technically qualified sports scientists are working in these Sports Science Specialities.  These Sports Scientists are responsible for teaching to the students of various sports programmes, providing relevant Scientific Support & back-up to the elite National and other specified categories of sportspersons and are conducting various research activities.


The Minister said, a decision has been taken by the Government to set up the Indian Institute of Sports Sciences and Research (IISSR) at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi, to integrate the study, research and practice of Sports Science and medicine to achieve excellence in sports. It is not possible to give any time frame for this since it will depend on various factors including availability of resources.